The Look of Defeat

27 05 2013

brucelee

Has anyone ever seen the look of defeat in anyones face.  I know people usually tell their friends, family or co workers “You look defeated” after someone doesn’t win something.  But I am talking about the look of defeat in life.  I have this image in head and I just had to write about it because I can’t stop seeing it when I close my eyes.

It’s a little haunting and scary.  How can all the events in your life time let you down to the point where you can’t lift your head.  The look of defeat I am talking about is a mix of not being able to lift your chin up, speaking softly, tired eyes, grey streaks of hair (you don’t even get a color treatment to cover it up because its pointless) a sad and depressing aura.

I feel terribly bad for this person and I wish I could say something that might be helpful, but I feel that I might come across too hard and insensitive, I mean what can I say?  “Stop worrying about everyone and take care of yourself” “So you made bad choices, who hasn’t, start making the right ones” “I feel for you, but feeling bad for yourself and wanting pity from everyone won’t get you anywhere”

I really haven’t heard much from the person’s family or how they have attempted to help them.  Family sticks together regardless of how much you hate them at one point.  If you ever come across this post feel free to send me an email.  I won’t sugar coat how I feel about your situation and hope that someday that look of defeat is replaced by a look of joy…


Actions

Information

One response

30 05 2013
Dorian Grey

The way I see it is if you truly care for this person then you should speak up and ask what’s going on, what’s wrong, you look really down, whats on your mind, do you want to talk about it, do you need help or can I help in any way? Anyone of those will help the person open up and talk about it. More times then none, just talking about whats wrong or whats going on with them to someone really helps and it’s really good for them to get it off their chest. Also, It sometimes helps to say their problems out load to help them figure things out or figure out ways to salve their problems or whatever it is that’s bringing them down. Lastly, it’s also helpful to get another persons point of view, their opinions or suggestions on what can help. Whatever you decide to do on this matter, i’m sure that the person will appreciate the thought of trying to talk or help the person.

I hope that person feels better soon. Good luck!

Leave a comment